Search and verify licenses

Kentucky Marriage License

If you are living in Kentucky and are planning to marry, you are on the right page. Here we will discuss all the details about Kentucky marriage license.

Who can and can not get married in Kentucky?

In Kentucky, only a man and a woman can get married. Although same-sex marriages are allowed in other states, Kentucky does not recognize or allow it. If a person is already married and his or her spouse is alive, that person can not marry again. Relatives (including first and second cousins) can not marry each other either. Despite some exceptions, people can not marry each other if they both are less than 18 years old.

Kentucky has quite strict requirements for marriage licenses. So, here is the list of marriages that the court has prohibited and restricted:

  • Marriages between first and second cousins
  • Same-sex marriages
  • Proxy marriages
  • Marriages with people who are mentally incompetent
  • Marriages where one of the parties is not divorced with his or her living spouse
  • Common law marriages; and
  • Marriages which are not solemnized in the presence of an authorized person.

What are the age requirements for Kentucky marriage license?

As we have already mentioned, people must be at least 18 years old to be eligible to marry in Kentucky. However, there are some exceptions here:

  • If people are 17 years old, they can marry each other by getting consent from their parents or guardians. Those people must have legal control over a minor.
  • If people are 15 or 16 years old, they can marry each other if the court approves their marriage. The reason of approval can be when a female is pregnant or already is a mother. Additionally, she wants to marry with the father of the child. In this case too, the people who are 15 or 16 must receive consent from their parents or guardians.
  • If people are 15-17 years old and they can not receive consent from their parents or guardians, they have the right to ask the court to approve their marriage. Even without the consent from a parent or guardian, the court can approve the marriage if they find a sound reason to do so. One of the reasons can be when a female is pregnant. However, if the court does not approve the marriage and the parties do not get consent from their parents or guardians, they can not get married if they are less than 16.

What information should be included in the application for the license?

In Kentucky, two people can marry each other only after getting a marriage license. They may get the marriage license from the place they live or from their county’s clerk office. In the case of being under age, it is important to make the application in the bride’s county of residence.

For getting a Kentucky marriage license, you should fill out the written application. After that, each applicant should swear and confirm that any given information in the application is true. You can find the applications at the county clerk’s office for your county. Each applicant should fill out the application, which includes his or her full name, age, birthplace, and residence.

Moreover, the office requires additional information about names of dependent children (if any). The applicants should also include the names, residence, and birthplace of their parents. Most importantly, if there is any reason that the parties can not marry, they should include it, as well.

What should you take with you when applying for a license?

Though in Kentucky marriage laws are the same, different county clerks may have minor differences in their requirements. Here is the list of general papers you may need to take with you:

  • Certified copy of your birth certificate
  • Driver’s license
  • Other identification documents (including Passport, Social Security Card, Picture ID, etc.)
  • Proof of residency in county (including driver’s license, utility bill, etc.); and
  • Certified copy of your divorce decree if you were married or divorced before.

How long does it take to get a marriage license in Kentucky?   

Kentucky does not require any waiting period or blood test. You can get your marriage license from your local county clerk’s office. As soon as you get your marriage license, you can get married. There is no need to wait any certain amount of time. Both parties must be present to get the license.

Kentucky marriage license is good for 30 days. You’d better solemnize it within 30 day period; otherwise your license will be expired. After the expiration date, both parties must apply for a new license.

How much is a marriage license in Kentucky?

Depending on your county of marriage, a Kentucky marriage license may cost anywhere from $32 to $35. The county clerks accept cash, checks, MC, Discover and Visa.

For getting exact information about costs you can contact your county clerk’s office. They do not accept personal checks.

Who can perform a marriage in Kentucky?

Marriages in Kentucky may be performed by

  • a minister
  • a priest
  • justices of the peace
  • judges of the Court of Justice; and
  • fiscal court commissioners

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Kentucky Department for Public Health
Office of Vital Statistics
275 East Main Street – IE-A
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 564-4212

How do I find marriage records in Kentucky?

According to the provisions of the state’s Open Records Act, Kentucky share marriage records publicly. People, who want to obtain the certified copies of marriage records, can get them upon request.

The Vital Statistics Branch of the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services manages and processes the requests for Kentucky vital records. Firstly, for obtaining Kentucky marriage records, interested people should send a written request to the Office of Vital Statistics. The request must include the full names of both parties involved.

It should also contain date and year of the marriage, and the county where the license was approved. The requestor must also indicate his or her full name, mailing information and other contact information. The fee for the request is $6, which the requestor should attach to the application and make payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer. The applicant may deliver the completed form or written request by himself or send it via mail to:

Office of Vital Statistics
275 E. Main St. 1E-A
Frankfort, KY 40621

Rita S.

With over the years of writing content for a number of websites, Rita has a uniquely developed style of writing. Rita is a copy and content writer with experience of three to four years. She has worked as an SEO and an SMM specialist, as well. During her working years, Rita has written many articles and blog posts for different companies in the world. She provides coaching, ghost writing, and ghost editing services. She has brought very high rankings for the websites she has teamed up with. She uses the combination of SEO and different content tools in her writings, as she knows that successful content is the one that is well optimized. Rita has posted her articles on the websites, such as Medium, ArticlesBase, LicenseSearch.org, and so on.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State